American Church And Muslim Immigrants!

A few weeks ago, a friend sent me an article about a pastor in some Southern state church who had decided to open his church doors to immigrants. It described how the pastor had let a group of immigrants start their own congregation in his building. The blog had been well circulated and received by many people. Among many comments, one that stood out to me was, “This is the kind of church that I want to attend.” It really puzzled me, and I had the following questions:

Really? Prior to his decision to “open his church doors” to immigrants, did the pastor stand on the doorstep and prevent the immigrants from coming in? And to those who were so impressed with this action to open his church doors to immigrants, is this the first time you’ve heard of an American pastor doing something like this? Have you been living under a rock?

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a Muslim background Iranian believer. I immigrated to the US in 1969 and became a follower of Christ in 1971. Maybe this is something common in SoCal, but there are 100s of Anglo churches that share their buildings with immigrant churches.

In 1986, when the first Iranian church in the US (the church I had started 10 years earlier) was looking for a meeting place, The Church On The Way (TCOTW) in San Fernando Valley opened its facilities to us willingly and freely. From the very beginning, the pastor of the church, Jack Hayford, treaded me as one of his staff members even though I was never on the staff. But he never thought what he was doing was out of the ordinary because many other pastors had done similar things before him. In fact, the Hispanic congregation at TCOTW, which had been meeting there long before we came along, eventually became the largest Hispanic congregation in the nation.

I wouldn’t have thought too much about the above article if a couple of days ago I hadn’t seen Christianity Today’s article Missionaries Dreamed Of This Muslim Moment. The article lamented how as the result of President Trump’s “Muslim ban” “evangelical experts on Muslim missions express concerns…”

Before I go any further, it is important my readers understand that I was not a Mr. Trump supporter, nor did I agree with the decision to ban Muslims, regardless of their immigration status, from getting into the US. I believe that decision was extremely ill-advised. However, I do believe in sovereignty of all nations and the right for them to have borders.

Just by reading the title of this article, one could very easily walk away thinking that this administration’s decision has deeply hurt Muslim evangelism, even though it specifically says, “Last year, the United States admitted about 39,000 Muslim refugees, a record high yet survey after survey indicate that white evangelicals are the least excited about their new neighbors.”

In other words, the issue is not Mr. Trump’s decision, but the evangelicals’ lack of interest in reaching Muslims for Christ. By the way, I find it interesting that the survey did not say anything about how the black or Hispanic evangelicals feel about their new neighbors and making this to be solely a white evangelical issue.

I wholeheartedly agree with my dear friend, David Cashin, when he says, “This is the best case we’ve had in human history to share the love of Christ with Muslims.” Not because of what the Christians necessarily have done, but because of how Muslim leaders have exposed Islam for what it is truly about.

On the other hand, I disagree with David when he says,

Would a Muslim feel the American church is a safe place for them? The answer probably is they would not. The more evangelicals come out in favor of Trump’s policies, he said, the more they exclusively view Islam as a threat rather than a ministry opportunity.

First, I’ve worked with Iranian Muslims in America for more than 40 years and I’ve yet to see one who found the church to be an unsafe place. Second, for just as many years, I’ve been saying,

America is the greatest mission field God has given us. He’s brought people of every background to our doorsteps. We can change a whole nation overseas without ever leaving our homes by changing one man or woman. We can accomplish that just by taking a glass of water in Christ’s name to the man or woman who lives across the street from us, who speaks with an accent and wears a turban or a burka.

Unfortunately, in the last 40 years, regardless of the administration in charge, Democrats or Republicans, most evangelical churches of any color have shown very little to no interest in reaching out to their Muslim neighbors.

After reading my book, Shame On You, a friend who used to be the president of a Bible college told me, “Shah, the American church is NOT interested in what you have to offer. Have you thought about becoming a comedian?” I guess he really enjoyed my humorous writing skills.

For years, I took the above statement as a joke, but today I wonder…

4 thoughts on “American Church And Muslim Immigrants!

  1. This is awesome! We have a high Christian Sudanese immigrant population here and a few churches downtown have a similar situation. And not only does it surprise me that people don’t know this, but also the Sudanese are met with judgement from within the Christian community for wearing burka. Really?? I used to teach in a Sudanese Sunday school. It was very humbling when considering what they had escaped while a lot of other churches are just concerned about having enough coffee in the lobby. Some of the most amazing worship music also. And it should be unifying not dividing.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sara, for your comments. I believe one of the ways to stop the church in America from dying—According to some studies, we’re losing 3500 churches per year—is to reach out to the immigrants, especially, those from a non-Christian background. I do understand Christians being cautious when it comes to working with Muslims. They should be, but to completely shun them out of fear, or lack of care is a great mistake. If we don’t change them through the love of God, they will change America as we know it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

